top of page
Winchester COA

Winchester Council on Aging

The Winchester Council on Aging (COA) was formed in May of 1973 when Town Meeting approved its formation and the Select Board appointed eleven members to serve in an advisory capacity. Proudly serving the needs of Winchester’s older adults, the dedicated team of director, social worker, nurse, transportation coordinator, and administrative staff strive to enhance the lives of Winchester’s seniors through direct service as well as educational programs.  

The COA provides the following services: social services, health services, Memory Café for seniors with cognitive impairment, support groups, financial counseling and tax assistance, educational programs, nutritional services, transportation, intergenerational activities, housing counseling, and the help of local handymen.


The COA receives funding from the Town of Winchester as well as formula grant funding from the Executive Office of Elder Affairs.  In addition, community partnerships with local institutions have supported the work of the COA, as needed.  


The COA has several committees that guide its efforts in serving Winchester’s senior population. Foremost the COA Board is an eleven-member advisory group appointed by the Select Board to carry out the mission of the COA. In addition, there is the Transportation Committee that meets monthly to review and enhance transportation policy and procedures.  The COA Financial Consultant and Director are members of the Town’s Senior Tax Committee making recommendations to the Select Board on the Town’s taxation policies. 

To identify the needs of seniors and to meet those needs through programs, direct service, education, and advocacy."

Mission Statement

COA Board of Directors
If you have any questions for any of the Board members, please email Phillip Beltz, COA Director, at


Jennifer Wilson


Vice Chairperson

Colette Desmarais


Finance Officer

Rebecca Watson



Meredith Allen


Colette Desmaris

David Campbell

Margaret McIndoe

Merrie Allen

Nick Troisi

Philip Bushey

Ted Martin

Tom Howley

Wei Han

Minuteman Representative

Margaret McIndoe 

bottom of page